The Westmont home page is my work computer’s home page, so every time I open Firefox, it pops up and lets me know all the wonderful goings-on at Westmont. One of the widgets on the site is Verse of the Day, which links daily to a bible verse chosen by the folks at the website of the same name. Today, the verse caught my eye :

“I am about to pour out my wrath on you and spend my anger against you; I will judge you according to your conduct and repay you for all your detestable practices.”
Ezekiel 7:8/NIV

This is a solid step in the right direction for Westmont’s outreach program, which “…welcomes … community members to take advantage of all it [Westmont] has to offer.” I frequently feel as though Christians skip to the warm and fuzzy messages of God’s love and blessing, while leaving out the fun bits: God’s wrath, judgement, and anger (cf. 2 Kings 2:23-25). By allowing this verse on the first page on the Westmont website to reach outsiders, Westmont is sending the message that it has a holistic image of God to offer, one that even penetrates the “Westmont Bubble” (a definition for another essay).

What’s unclear to me at this point, however, is how this verse specifically applies to Westmont. Is it aimed at the college itself for its constant tuition increases, bureaucratic headaches, and single-minded devotion to its future at the expense of its current students? Or is it perhaps aimed at those same embittered students for lashing out against the system while having little to no knowledge of its inner workings, with God’s chosen instrument of judgement being the aforementioned inconveniences? Doubtless all will become clear soon, but regardless of how the verse applies to Westmont, I’m starting to feel a bit nervous about last month’s bear sightings.