Just a quick blurb where I thought I’d share a bit of music I wrote during this past year for composition lessons. Neither of them is particularly advanced, so this is definitely not a brag-fest, but I did make them.

The first is a four-part choral piece in a quasi-Renaissance style using imitative polyphony. I wrote it in the fall of the school year. Titled “Come Unto Me, Ye That Labor,” it takes the text from Matthew 11:28 and 29.  The style inspiration for this piece is Thomas Tallis’ “If Ye Love Me”.  Not to sound too horribly conceited, but I really like this piece. This recording is some great singer friends of mine performing the piece at our school’s composer’s concert.   Come Unto Me, Ye That Labor
The second piece has somewhat of a silly backstory.  It is a fugue which I originally started writing for organ after learning more about Bach’s music through singing the St. John Passion, with the original intent to write a prelude / fugue combo.  I started work on the prelude, then decided that the fugue, being more difficult in nature, should come first and began on it instead.  After some weeks, however, I realized that since there were no organ players at Westmont, I would have to find some other way to have it performed. At that point, I had finished maybe about half of it and wrote it from that point on with strings in mind. It is actually a three-voice fugue, but when I started writing for strings, I added a fourth voice at certain parts and you can probably tell if you listen closely. The version here is a Finale 2009 Garritan string quartet loaded from within the program.   Fugue in D Major

Anyway, I hope if you listen that you enjoy them / find them meaningful / share them / have ideas about how to better improve my composition / any combination of the above.