Our apartment is undergoing drastic renovation, and by that I mean that we are hanging things on the walls for a change.  I, having the most free time, am addressing this issue the most head-on, and have printed and framed a few photos that I took on various trips to countries other than the U.S.  Next step: determining where they go!  In the mean time, I thought I would put up the photos here as a demi-post in the same vein as “Some Music I Wrote“.

I can’t seem to figure out how to do captions on each photo (it is probably bewilderingly easy), but I can say here that the first six of these photos are from a trip I took to France after my senior year of high school, and include Notre Dame, the Eiffel Tower, the inside of the Musée D’Orsay, and an exceedingly avant-garde photo of the reflection of Chenonceau castle.  The other three are of the Arenal Volcano in Costa Rica, and were taken the summer after my junior year at Westmont when the choir went on tour there.  I was thinking about putting the three of those photos in a single frame with three photo windows in it.

One note: Picasa.  I used Google’s Picasa photo program to touch these up and I think it did a very nice job.  I especially like the reflection shot and the color differences that got brought out.  Note that this was not due to skill on my part: there is actually an “I’m feeling lucky” touch-up button in Picasa which gave all of the below effects.  I do enjoy photography, but I’m not sure I have the time or skill to invest in hard-core photo analysis tools.  All of these photos were taken on my Olympus that was new when I was a senior in high school.