I’ve got two posts in the works right now: one about toys, the other about cosmology.  In the meantime, here’s a short list of websites that have recently captured my attention, enthusiasm, and viewership.

  • BryanAllain.com:  I linked here from Max Vs. Max, a webcomic I read, to watch a video about soccer.  It was hilarious, and got me engaged in the rest of the website, which contains not only other intelligently written humor articles (I have used the CROME system twice already this summer) but a swath of insightful thoughts on faith topics and others.  A pretty quick bookmark.
  • Royal Society of the Arts and RSAnimate.  Also linked from Max Vs. Max —
  • Okay sidebar: if you like comics on the internet or comics in general, you should read MVM.  Wes Molebash is a great cartoonist and MVM is just as good as or better than his previous strip, You’ll Have That.  To top it off he is also a pretty decent fellow.  A few years ago I saw him at Comic-Con and called him “Mr. Molebash” and he didn’t laugh at me in my nervous politesse.
  • Okay back to RSA.  I linked to a video on motivation from MVM and was blown away when I found that they have whole talks just free to watch on a variety of engaging topics like motivation and time perception.  In addition, they take clips of these talks and animate them, making them more accessible.
  • Technology, Entertainment, Design:  Fern (whose blog is much more frequently updated with more thoughtful words than mine) linked me here for more interesting and thought-provoking talks on myriad subjects.  One interesting talk is “Sweat the Small Stuff.
  • Overthinkingit.com:  If I had been more intelligent, I would have just tried to start writing here instead of wasting my time on a blog of my own.  No description I give could beat the site’s self-description:  “Overthinking It subjects the popular culture to a level of scrutiny it probably doesn’t deserve.”  I think I got this as a google search looking for anyone on the internet who thought Avatar sucked as badly as I did and got way more than I bargained for.

So the next time you’re sitting at your computer waiting for the next installment of my pithy, prosaic writs, click on one of these babies instead and read the sorts of things that give me something to shoot for in my own writing.